16
Jun
09

amerikan skies for irish ones

Back home. Or something like it. Where to start?

I live with some peeps right across the street from school. Very nice location. I’ve a room that’s bigger than one i’ve had in years, which came with an air organ that i’m going to learn how to play. Good times, yeah? Also, my computer broke. Terrible mishap, that. I want a new macbook, but instead i’m getting the same old model of Toshiba drudgery. Such is life. At least it’s free. Oh, and, luckily, i backed up everything a few days before it happened, so i’ve still all my music, musings, and memories from ireland and beyond. Still though, sucks to be without a computer for the next month. it’s why i’ve not said anything on here in so long. 

Let’s go back.

Leaving Dublin was both frightening and emotional. Not just because it was my home, but because of everything that’s happened this year and all the people i’ve known. Lauren and i survived the plane ride, got a little drunk in Newark, and then left to our respective lives in the middle west of amerika. 

Been hit by a lot of culture shock, more than when i went the other way. It’s strange to be back in my homeland. Stranger still how the world’s changed since i’ve left it. But i’ve friends here. A few anyway. Less than i remember, though. Bridges burn if you don’t watch after them and they burn faster when you light them.

Most of my friends from high school aren’t around. I don’t have a job. I spend the days in a daze of lethargy, wasting the hours and minutes till it’s time to do it again. I’ve many projects, though. Gonna get started on them soonishly. Bought fingerpaint, am learning to play the organ, got a tape recorder, and am conceptualising the mystery boxes i’ll be sending out. All great fun. Some of the projects have been put on hold because of the broken computer. I was going to write a play and a novella, but that’s lost for now. Also, i’ve a secret mission to complete using the wonders of technology. Oh, and i’m going to make ciphers. Yeah, lots of random tomfoolery.

I’ve always been a bit of a reluctant blogger, but i’m glad i came round to it and Ian forced my hand. It’s nice to have the year put down for my memory, which is constantly failing. But now, the site holds little use to me. Might be a very long time till i post again. But i think i did all right. I’ve had over 1,200 hits in just nine months. Not bad, i must say.

But, yeah, these must end.

Why not here.

2 Responses to “amerikan skies for irish ones”


  1. 1 ijhanson
    June 16, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Yo there Eddy!

    It actually blows my mind that you are home, especially since you’re home more than a month before I get home, craziness! It somehow seemed like you were going to spend the rest of your life in Ireland; I remember first when you said that you were going to spend a year rather than a semester, I was like “What, are you crazy? You’re going to be gone Forever!” But now, what do you know, you’re back just 274 rotations of the earth later. Amazing, time flies faster than falcons ever could.

    Currently I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in, and stops my mind from wandering. It really doesn’t matter, whether I’m wrong or am right. Silly people running around and never ask me why they never get past mi puerta.

    Well Eddy, it’s been quite an amazing journey it seems, and whether you’ve got a head of steam or a balloon with a lack of air, you’ve got a friend in Chile.

    If you start another blog, I’ll be the first subscriber.

    Salu2. Ian James.

  2. June 27, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Why not here? Jesus, that line just hit me like a brick. There are few blogs I’ve found that are really worth reading, and this is one of them. But I kind of agree that you should maybe kill it. The time of clover has rolled passed, and what you have here, this thing that’s like a blog and like a story, whatever it is, it’s complete. It’s one of those rare moments when a good writer sets out to type some life out of his bones and ends up unintentionally creating something great, coming full circle almost like you planned it. But I do hope you start another one, and no doubt I’ll be reading it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

